Halal / Haram Mashbooh Ingredients

Download PDF
Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
Acetic acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical
Acetic Acid Chemical Used as a preservative in food
Acetone Chemical Used as solvent in spice extracts
Agar Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a gum obtained from plant source
Albumin Ingredients from Egg and Fish It is made from egge white.
Algin Grain and Plant based Ingredients It is a gum obtained from seaweeds.
Allspice Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a spice of plant origin
Alum Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative.
Aluminum Ammonium Sulfate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Ammonium (Bicarbonate, Carbonate, Chloride, Sulfate) Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical
Amylase (alpha) Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is an enzyme obtained from plant and bacterial sources
Anise Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a spice of plant origin
Annatto Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a natural color extracted from plant pigment without alcohol
Arrowroot Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a starch obtained from plant rhizomes
Ascorbic Acid Chemical Used as a preservative in foods
Ascorbic acid or Vitamin C Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical
Aspartame Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A synthetic sweetener.
Azodicarbonamide Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical enrichment for flours.
Baker's Yeast Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a single celled plant which ferment sugar into carbon dioxide. It is used in bread baking.
Baker's Yeast Extract Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a flavoring agent obtained as solubles of mechanically rupturing the baker yeast cells.
Baking Powder Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical levener.
Baking Soda Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical levener.
Basil Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a spice obatined from plant source.
Bay Leaves Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a spice.
Beeswax Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is pure wax obtained from the honeycomb of the bee.
Benzaldehyde Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical flavorant.
Benzoic acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservatives.
Benzoic Acid Chemical Used as a preservative in foods
Bran Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is out part of a cereal seeds
Bulgur wheat Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a type of wheat
Caffeine Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is odorless powder occur in tea leaves and coffee beans.
Calcium (Carbonate, Chloride, Citrate, Sorbate, Sulfate) Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical
Calcium Propionate Chemical Used as a preservative
Canola Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is fully refined, bleached, and deodorized oil obtained from certain varieties of rapseeds.
Caramel Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a colorant obtained from the controll heat treatment of plant crabohydrates such as dextrose.
Caraway Grain & Plant based Ingredients It a plant spice.
Carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) Grain & Plant based Ingredients A cellulose gum.
Cardamom Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Carnauba Wax Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is plant wax obtained from leaf buds and leaves of Brazilian wax palm.
Carob Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a cocoa substitute obatined from pods of carob tree.
Carob Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a gum obtained from the pods of carob tree.
Carrot Oil or Carrot Oleoresin Grain and plant based ingredients Hexane(a Halal chemical solvent) is used to extract oil from carrot then by vacuum the hexane was removed according Code Of Federal Regulation Title 21 Part 73 Sec 73.300.
Chives Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Chlorine Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical gas.
Chocolate Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is obtained from coacoa nibs of cocoa beans.
Chocolate Liquor Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is fluide(liquor) obtained by grinding of cocoa nibs from the cocoa beans. No alcohol or liquor is added, it is just the name.
Cinnamon Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Citric Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical
Citrus Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is oil obtained from rinds of citrus fruits.
Clove Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is plant based spice.
Cocoa Butter Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is fat obtained from nibs of cocoa beans.
Cocoa Powder Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is powder obtained by grinding coacoa presscakes which is obtained from nibs of cocoa beans.
Coconut Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a nut obtained from coconut palm.
Coriander Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Corn Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Corn Bran Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a out part of corn seeds.
Corn Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a flour obtained by grinding corn.
Corn Gluten Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a corn protein.
Corn Meal Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a ground corn.
Corn Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a oil obtained from corn seeds
Corn Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a starch obtained from endosperm of corn seeds.
Corn Syrup Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is sweetener obtained from corn.
Corn Syrup Solids Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a dry form of corn syrup.
Cranberry Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a fruit.
Cream Dairy Ingredients : Cream is a milk fat obtained by seperating it from milk.
Cream of Tarter Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a acid potassium salt of tartaric acid occuring as a powder or crystal. In USA & Canada it is made from crushed grapes but in other countries it is made from wine deposits on the wine barrel.
Cultured Corn Syrup Solid Grain and plant based ingredient Cultured Corn Syrup solid is made by adding bacteria to corn syrup solid for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured corn syrup solid is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured Corn Syrup Solid is a Halal flour.
Cultured Wheat Flour Grain and plant based ingredients Cultured wheat Flour is made by adding bacteria to wheat flour for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured wheat flour is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured wheat flour is a Halal flour.
Cumin Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Curry Powder Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a blend of plant based spices.
Dextrin Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a part of plant starch.
Dextrose Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a corn sweetener from corn starch.
Dicalcium Phosphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Dill Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Dipotassium Phosphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Disodium Guanylate Grain and plant based ingredient Disodium Guanylate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is a nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in infant baby formula.
Disodium Inosinate Grain and plant based ingredient. Disodium Inosinate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in baby infant formula.
Durum Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a flour obtained from durum wheat.
EDTA Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical chelating agent.
Egg White Ingredients from Egg and Fish It is a egg white products.
Egg Yolks Ingredients from Egg and Fish It is egge yolk product.
Eggs Ingredients from Egg and Fish It is whole eggs.
Ethylvanillin Chemical Ethyl Vanillin is differ from vanillin by having ethoxy group (–O–CH2CH3) rather methoxy group (–O–CH3). It is made from Lignin base a pulp from wood or guaiacol.
Farina Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a ground particles of durum wheat.
Fennel Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Fenugreek Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a plant based spice.
Ferric Oxide Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Ferrous Sulphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Fish Gelatin Ingredients from Egg and Fish It is made from bones of fish.
Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is obtained by grinding cereal seeds.
Fructose Grain & Plant based Ingredients A sweetener obtained from sugar or sucrose.
Fumaric Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Garlic Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Gellan Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based gum.
Ghatti Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based gum.
Ginger Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Glucon-Delta-Lactone Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients It is a acidulant and used in chemical leavening.
Gluten Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant protein.
Graham Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a whole wheat flour.
Grape Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a fruit.
Guar Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a gum obtained from plant.
High Fructose Corn Syrup Grain & Plant based Ingredients A sweetener obtained from corn.
Honey Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a natural syrup sweetener.
Horseradish Grain & Plant based Ingredients A spice obtained from horseradish plant.
Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates, Grain & plant based ingredients Hydrogenated Strach Hydrolysates is a sugar alcohol.
Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients Oil obtained from plant fat.
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein Grain & Plant based Ingredients A flavor enhancer obtained from vegetable protein.
Invert Sugar Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based sweetener. It is a mixture of dextrose and fructose.
Iron Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A metal.
Isomalt Grain & Plant based ingredients Isomalt is a sugar alcohol.
Karaya Grain & Plant based Ingredients A tree gum.
Kelp Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a brown seaweed grown on ocean water.
Lactic Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients An acid.
Lanolin Sheep Wool based Product Lanolin is fat obtained from sheep wool without slaughtering the sheep.
Lanolin Alcohol Sheep Wool based products Lanolin Alcohol is a sheep's wool wax.
Licorice Root Grain & Plant based Ingredients A flavoring obtained from plant root.
Locust Bean Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based gum.
Mace Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Magnesium Carbonate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Maize Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a another name of corn.
Malt Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is produced from barley a source of enzymes.
Maltitol Grain & plant based ingredients Maltitol is a sugar alcohol
Maltodextrin Grain & Plant based Ingredients A product obtained from starch.
Maltose Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a one of the part of starch.
Mannitol Grain & Plant based ingredients Mannitol is a sugar alcohol.
Maple Sugar Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a sugar obtained from maple tree.
Maple Syrup Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a natural syrup obtained from maple tree.
Marjoram Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Methylcellulose Grain & Plant based Ingredients A gum composed of cellulose.
Microbial Enzymes Grain & plant based ingredients Microbial enzymes which includes rennet microbial enzyme and Lypase Microbial enzyme are obtained the cells of yeast and they are Halal.
Modified Food Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant starch chemically modified.
Molasses Grain & Plant based Ingredients A by-product of sugar production from sugar cane.
Monocalcium
Phosphate
Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic
based Ingredients
A chemical.
Monosodium Glutamate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Monosodium Glutamate is a flavor enhancer and it si a sodium salt of glutamic acid. It is Halal & Kosher crtified in USA andf made in USA and Brazil.
Mustard Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant spice.
Natural Flavoring Grain & Plant based Ingredients Oleoresin of Spices such as Black Peppers Paprika and other spices are also called Natueral flavoring, it is not same as natural flavor. It is mostly used in Tomato Ketchups and other products. The extracting chemical is acetone.
Natural Hickory Smoke Flavor Flavor Smoke flavor of any kind whether liquid or dried is from the distilled fumes of a smoked wood. No alcohol is used.
Nutmeg Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Oat Grain & Plant based Ingredients A cereal.
Oat Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients Flour obtained from oat cereal.
Oatmeal Grain & Plant based Ingredients Meal obtained from oats.
Oleoresins of spices or natural flavoring Grain & Plant based Ingredients This is a spice extract and acetone is used as a extracting agent.
Olive Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients Oil obtained from olive fruits.
Onion Grain & Plant based Ingredients A vegetable.
Oregano Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Palm Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients Oil obtained from fruit of palm tree.
Papain Grain & Plant based Ingredients An enzyme obtained from Papaya fruit for tenederizing meat.
Paprika Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant based spice.
Parsley Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant.
Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Shortening Ingredients made from plant fat Made from plant fat.
Peanut Grain & Plant based Ingredients A fruit from peanut plant.
Pectin Grain & Plant based Ingredients A gum obtained from citrus peel.
Peppers Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant fruit.
Phenylethanol Chemical Phenylethanol is not ethyl alcohol which causes intoxication. Phenylethanol is obtained from oils and it is not a product of fermentaion. It provides odor which is pleasnt. It is a Halal alcohol. It is used in flavor and perfume
Phosphates Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical..
Phosphoric Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Polydextrose Grain & Plant based Ingredients A bulking agent obtained binding dextrose, sorbital and citric acid.
Polyvinyl Alcohol Polymer Polyvinyl Alcohol is a synthetc Polymer.
Potassium (Bicarbonate, Bromate, Sorbate) Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Potassiunm Sorbate Chemical Potassium Sorbate is a Chemicaland used as a preservative
Potato Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients Starch obtained from potato.
Pregelatinized Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients Starch which is processed to permit swelling in cold water because natural starch require heating to swell.
Propionic Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Presrvative chemical.
Propyle Gallate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients It is an antioxidant.
Propylene Glycol Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A solvcent use in manu flavors, a humectant and obtained from petroleum base.
Protease Enzyme Grain & Plant based Ingredients An enzyme which break the protein and it is obtained from plant or bacterial source.
Psyllium Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant gum.
Raisin Grain & Plant based Ingredients Raisins are naturally dried grapes.
Rapeseed Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant seed.
Rice Grain & Plant based Ingredients A cereal.
Rye Grain & Plant based Ingredients A cereal.
Saccharine Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A non nutritive synthetic sweetener.
Safflower Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant seeds.
Saffron Grain & Plant based Ingredients A spice obtained from stigma of plant flower and provide intese yellow color to foods.
Sage Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant spice.
Salt Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Savory Grain & Plant based Ingredients A spice.
Sea Salt Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Salt obtained from sea. A chemical.
Semolina Grain & Plant based Ingredients Coarse granular obtained from durum wheat.
Sesame Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant seed.
Shallot Grain & Plant based Ingredients A vegetable of onion family.
Silicon Dioxide Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Acetate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical
Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A leavening chemical.
Sodium Aluminum Phosphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A leavening chemical.
Sodium Aluminum Sulfate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical leavening agent.
Sodium Benzoate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative.
Sodium Benzoate Chemical A chemical used a in foods as a preservative
Sodium Bicarbonate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative.
Sodium Carbonate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Citrate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Hydroxide Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Lactate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Metabisulfate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Nitrate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium Nitrite Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Sodium sorbate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative.
Sorbic Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative.
Sorbic Acid Chemical Used as a preservative in foods
Sorbitol Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a sugar alcohol, humectant and polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol).
Soy Sauce(All Purpose) Grain and plant based ingredients All Purpose Soy Sauce is non naturally brewed soy sauce which is obtained without fermentation by blending hydrolyzed soy protein, salt, water, corn surup and sodium benzoate. It is not made with Wheat and Soy. La Choy is a leading Halal brand of All Purpse Soy Sauce in USA and Canada.
Soya Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients Flour obtained from soybean.
Soya Lecithin Ingredients made from plant It is an emulsifier obtained from soybean fat.
Soya Oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients Oil obtained from soybean.
Soybean Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant pod.
Soybean Oil Ingredients made from plant fat It is obtained from soybean fat.
Spices Grain & Plant based Ingredients They are plant based spices.
Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients A endosperm of cereal seed.
Sugar Grain & Plant based Ingredients A sweetener obtained from cane sugar and beet.
Sunflower Grain & Plant based Ingredients A seed.
Tapioca Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients A starch obtained from roots of cassava plant.
Tartaric acid Grain & Plant based Ingredients An acident found in grapes. It is made from crushed grapes in USA and Canada.
Textured Vegetable Protein Grain & Plant based Ingredients A vegetable protein which is extrudes to look like beef strip or nuggets.
Titanium Dioxide Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Tragacanth Grain & Plant based Ingredients A plant gum.
Tricalcium phosphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical.
Vanilla Bean Powder Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is 100% ground vanilla beans.
Vanillin Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Vanillin is a flavorant made from synthetic or artificial vanilla which can be plant lignin or synthetically mad e from guaiacol and eugenol.
Vegetable Oils Ingredients made from plant or vegetable fat It is made from vegetable fat..
Vinegar Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Vinegar is a acidulant and flavorant. It is made from cider, grape, sucrose, glucose, malt by successive alcoholic and acetous fermentation.. The term vinegar is applies to cider..
Vital Wheat Gluten Grain & Plant based Ingredients Vital wheat gluten is a protein obtained from wheat grain.
Vitamin C: As Ascorbic Acid Ingredients from plant It is made from plant or synthetic sources
Wheat Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a cereal.
Wheat Flour Grain & Plant based Ingredients Flour obtained bt grinding wheat.
Xanthan Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a gum obtained from Xanthomnas bacteria.
Xylitol Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a sugar alcohol and sweetener for substutting sugar obtained from birch trees.
zein. Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a corn protein.
Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate Grain and Plant based ingredients Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
Alcohol as solvent in flavor Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation Alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors
Alcohol in dry form is used as an ingredient Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation Alcohol made in dry form.
Bacon Haram Ingredients from Pig It is part of pig stomach.
Bacon bits. Haram Ingredients from Pig Bacon bits is obtained from pork stomach.
Balsamic Vinegar Grain & plant based ingredients True balsamic vinegar comes from Modena, Italy. Balsamic Vinegar is made from Trebbiano grape which is a sweet white grape which contains high sugar. Some products named balsamic vinegar are really dilutions containing ordinary red-wine vinegar. The grape cooked at about 185 F to obtain concentrated grape juice then cooled in wooden barrels, inoculated with fermentation culture which include transferring the grape juice to alcohol then to acetic acid and water then they aged for years. Other vinegars are not aged. Since it has higher sugar content the it will produce more alcohol which may not be converted to acetic acid and water. It is also possible they may use wine barrel to provide flavor. It is not made from wine but it is consider as a wine vinegar. Some company may add wine vinegar to get the right flavor. So we do not what happen during the production of Balsamic vinegar. MCG do not consider wine vinegar and Balsamic vinegar as Halal.
Beer Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is a fermented alcoholic drink.
Beer Batters Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation These are coating on meat and fish products containing beer as an ingredient.
Beer Flavor Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation Actual beer is added as an ingredient.
Brewer's Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast from beer making Ingredients from plant Brewer yeast is a single celled bacteria. In food products especially for meaty flavors or strong flavors, only brewer&&&&s yeast extract from beer making is used. According to ulema it is Haram ingredients because alcohol, beer flavor compounds are leached inside the yeast cell and is not subjected to any change.
Brewer's Yeast Grain & Plant based Ingredients Most Brewer's Yeast is obtained from by-product of beer making. During beer making alcohol of beer penetrate inside the yeat. It is also obtained after growning on alcohol.
Cochineal/Carmine color Ingredients from insects
It is a red color obtained from insects. All insects except locust are Haram in Hanafi Mazhab. Confectionary Glaze Insect secretion
Confectionary Glaze Insect secretion Confectionary Glaze is made by dissolving Shellac in ethyl alcohol then evaporating alcohol. Then It is applied to the surface of the food product. Shellac without alcohol is Halal. It is a insect secrtion.
Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate Grain & plant based ingredients Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate Grain & plant based ingredients Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate Grain & plant based ingredients Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
Erythritol Grain & plant based ingredients Erythritol is a sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit alcoholic fermentation.
Fermented Cider Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is a fermented apple juice.
Gelatin Ingredients made from animals It is Haram product if it is made from pig. Many ulema consider it Haram if it is made from non zabiha beef.
Ham Haram Ingredients from Pig It is a pig meat.
Hard Cider Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is a fermented apple juice.
Inosito5' - Monophosphate Grain and plant based ingredients Inosito5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
Lard Ingredients made from Pig Fat It is a pig fat.
Marshmallow containing pork gelatin Haram Ingredients from Pig Pork gelatin used in making of marshmallow.
Nucleotides Grain & plant based ingredients Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
Pork Haram Ingredients from Pig It is flesh of swine.
Rosemary Extract Grain & Plant based ingredients Alcohol is used as extracting solvent.
Rum Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is a liquor.
Sherry Wine Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is a wine.
Soya Sauce(Naturally Brewed) Grain & Plant based Ingredients Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce with ingredient statement Wheat and Soy is obtained by fermenting soybean and wheat just like wine. Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce contains 2-3% alcohol.
Stevia Natural Sweetener Natural Sweettener Steviol Glycol is extracted from Stevia plant and crystalized through alcohol.
Teriyaki, Teriyaki Suace Grain & plant based ingredients Teriyaki or Teriyaki sauce is made by using Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce(a soy & wheat fermented sauce containing 2-3% alcohol)with or without Mirin or Sake a sweet rice wine with other ingredients such as sugar, hone, pineapple, spices, bromelain a Halal enzyme.
Vanilla Bean Specks Grain & plant based ingredients Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive so many ice cream manufacturer do not use this type of vanilla bean specks. Our ulema consider vanilla bean specks as not Halal if it is obtain after alcohol extraction because alcohol is used on seeds to get vanilla flavor and it is contaminated the Halal vanilla bean seeds.
Vanilla Extract Ingredient from plant Vanilla extract is flavorant made fromvanilla bean extract. It is extracted with alcohol and contains minimum 35% alcohol in solution.
Wine Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is a fermented product.
Wine Vinagar Grain & plant based ingredients Wine vinegar is made from wine which is Haram in Islam. Not all wine is converted to vinegar. The flavor and color of wine are also Haram which do not convert to a new thing.
Wine vinegar. Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation It is obtained from wine and contains left over wine, wine flavor and color.
Yeast Extract from Brewer Yeast Grain & Plant based Ingredients Brewer Yeast Extract is obtained from Brewer Yeast. Most Brewer's Yeast is obtained from by-product of beer making. During beer making alcohol of beer penetrate inside the yeat. It is also obtained after growning on alcohol.
Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
Acid Casein Dairy Ingredients It is a milk protein obatined commercially from skim milk by precipitation with lactic acid or hydrochloric or sulphuric acid.. It is Halal if it is Halal or kosher certified because addition of starter culture bacteria. It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Artificial Colors or FD&C Yellow No. 5 and others Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Artificial colors or FD&C colors are chemical dyes and they are Halal if use as is in powder or granular form. If theyse as liquid colors a slovent such as vegetable oil or glycerin has to be added. If glycerin is used as a solvent in liquid colors the they are Halal if plant fat glycerin is used, Haram if pork fat glycerin is used.
Artificial Flavors Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Artificial Flavors are usually made from chemical and synthetic raw material. For Halal artificial flavor the synthetic raw material has to be Halal and solvent should not be alcohol. Not Halal artificial are made from non Halal raw material and alcohol is used as a solvent.
Beta-Carotene Grain & Plant based Ingredients Beta Caroten is natural color obtained from plant but it is not sold as is but with carrier must be added for mixing purpose for dy products or liquid products. If vegetable oil I or fish gelatin is added as carrier the it is considred as Halal beta carotene. A Halal or Kosher symbol on food product conatining beta carotene indicate eithjer vegetable oil or fish gelatin is added as a carrier. OR Pork gelatin may be used as a carrier for proper dispersion of Beta-Carotene.
BHA or BHT Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative but always avaialble with fat based carrier. Halal if vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Not Halal if animal fat is used as a carrier. A Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package containing BHA or BHT indicate only vegetableoil is used as a carrier.
Butter fat Lipolyzed Dairy Ingredients It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified because of source of enzyme. It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Buttermilk Solids Dairy Ingredients Buttermilk solds are obtained from buttermilk. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Calcium Stearate Ingredients made from plant or animal fat Calcium Stearate is the calcium salt of stearic acid. It is Halal only if stearic acid is obtained from vegetable fat or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Carrageenan Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a seaweed gum. Isopropyl Alcohol( A Halal Alcohol) or Ethyl Alcohol (A Haram Alcohol) is also used during it processing.
Caseinates Dairy Ingredients Caesinates are milk protein obtained from curding the milk. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Cetyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol Animal or Vegetable Fat based Cetyl alcohol, Butyl alcohol are not ethyl alcohol but fat waxes. They are Halal if they obtained from vegetable fat. They are Haram if they obtained from pork fat.
Cheese & Dairy Culture Grain & Plant based Ingredients These are starter culture bacteria added to milk to provide flavor and texture to cheese and other dairy products
Cheese Powder Dairy Ingredients : Cheese powder is made by drying the cheese. t is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Cultured Cream Lipolyzed Dairy Ingredients The enzyme use has to be Halal.
Cultured Milk Dairy Ingredients The cultures added to milk has to be from milk sources not from meat. The media use to grow these cultures has to be Halal.
DATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ester of Monoglycerides) Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Diglyceride Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Dried Milk Dairy Ingredients Milk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
Enzyme Grain & Plant based Ingredients or animal source Enzymes are protein obtained from plant and animal sources.
Enzyme Modified Soya Lecithin Ingredients made from plant or animal enzyme Soy lecithin is modified by use of lipase enzyme. It is Halal only if microbial lipase is used or Halal or Kosher certified.
Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Folic Acid Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Folic acid is a vitamin B. It is obtained synthetically or from Vitamin B. It is Halal if is Halal or Kosher certified. It is not Halal if it is obtained from non Halal sources.
Glycerin Grain & Plant based Ingredients or animal source Glycerin is a polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol) used as a humectant. It is made from fat either plant or animal.
Glycerol Ester Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Glycerol Monostearate Ingredients from plant or animal fat Glycerol Monostearate is emulsifier. It is Halal only if it is obtained from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Hydroxylated Lecithin Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
L-Cysteine Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients L-Cysteine is a non essential amino acid and use in bakery products as a reductant or dough conditioner. L-Cysteine is obtained from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and L-Cysteine is a non essential amino acid and use in bakery products as a reductant or dough conditioner. L-Cysteine is obtained from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and L-Cysteine is a essential amino acid and use in bakery products as a reductant or dough conditioner. L-Cysteine is obtained from human hair, chicken/duck feathers are not Halal. There are two companies who makes the Halal L-Cysteine and they are: 1. Wacker Chemie of Germany who make the L-Cysteiene by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced. It is also term as L-Cysteine from fermentation. 2. Ajinomonto Company makes L-Cysteine by synthetic method. This L-Cysteine is Halal certified by Council of Indonesia Ulema. The L-Cysteine made from human hair is a Haram ingredient. The L-Cystiene made from chicken/duck feathers is not consider as Halal by ulema.
Lactitol Milk based ingredient Lactitol is a sugar alcohol and made from whey a by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal or Kosher certified sweet whey or acid whey or a Halal or kosher symbol or suitable for vegetarian appears on food package containing Lactitol.
Lactose Dairy Ingredients Lactose is milk sugar and obtained from whey during cheese making, so it has to be Halal or Kosher certified for its Halal status.
Magnesium Stearate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients It is a Magnesium salt of stearaic acid and used as an anticaking agent or llubricant. It is Halal if the stearic acid is from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified. It is Haram if the stearic acid is from pork fat.
Margarine Grain & Plant based Ingredients A product whose consitancy and application similar to butter. It is made by mixing milk, fat (either plant or animal) and artificial flavor to provide butter flavor.
Mono- and Diglycerides Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Monoglyceride Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Natural Flavors Grain & Plant based Ingredients or meat Natural flavor is made from any natural material including meat. It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified and alcohol is not used as a solvent. A natural flavor could br Kosher certified but alcohol could be use as a solvent then in this case it is not Halal. So therre two requirements, one the Halal material is used as a raw material and second no alcohol is used as a solvent
Niacin Grain & Plant based Ingredients or meat It is water soluble Vitamin B3. It can be obtained from animal or plant or synthetci sources. Niacin is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal sources and Halal or Kosher certified. Niacin is not Halal if it is obtained from animal sources.
Nonfat Dry milk Dairy Ingredients Milk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Polyoxythylene Sorbitan Monostearate Ingredients made from Plant or Vegetable Fat with kosher symbol on food package only It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Polysorbate 60 Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Polysorbate 80 Ingredients made from Plant or Vegetable Fat with kosher symbol on food package only It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Propylene Glycol Monostearate Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Rennet Grain & Plant based Ingredients or animal source A milk coagulant which is a concentrated extract of rennin enzyme obtained from calves or pig stomach or microbial source. Calf rennet is obatined from cow, microbial rennet is obatined from bacteria. Pepsin rennet is obtained from pig.
Rennet Casein Dairy Ingredients : It is a milk protein obatined using rennet to curd the milk. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Riboflavin Grain & Plant based Ingredients or meat Riboflavin is a vitamin B2. Sources includes cheese, leafy vegetables, eggs, milk and liver. In processed foods it is very likely to have been produced synthetically using genetically modified bacteria Bacillus subtilis, It is Halal if it is made from bacteria and Halal or Kosher certified. It is not Halal if it is made from liver.
Shellac Ingredients from insect secretion It is a secretion of insect. It is Halal if alcohol is NOT used during processing.
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate Grain & Plant based Ingredients A fat based emulsifier and whipping aid, used in egg white.
Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Softener Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is made from polyhydric alcohol such as glycerin which is made from fat. It is Halal if it is made from vegetable fat based ingredients.
Sorbitan Monostearate Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Sour Cream Solids Dairy Ingredients Sour cream solids are Halal only if they are Halal or Kosher certified because gelatin is used in the manufacturing of sour cream.
TBHQ Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical antioxidant and comes with a carrier. It is Halal only if ivegetable oil is used as a carrier and Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified and conatins animal fat.
Thiamine Mononitrate Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a B1 vitamin. Thiamine can be produced synthetically from the bran coat of grains and yeast. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified and not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Tocopherol or Vitamin E Grain & Plant based Ingredients A fat soluble vitamin E obtained either from plant or animal fat.
Tofu Grain & Plant based Ingredients It is a soybean curd obtained by adding a coagulant to soybean milk. If coagulant is from Halal the tofu is Halal, if it is not from Halal source then tofu is not halal.
Turmeric Grain & Plant based Ingredients Turmeric is a colorant spice obtained from the root of the plant. It is Halal if used as pure turmeric powder. But some companies are add some emulsifie to use it in a liquid system. It is Haram if pork emulsifier is used as a carrier.
Turmeric Extract Grain and Plant based ingredients If Turmeric Extarct is extracted with Acetone then it is Halal but if it is extracted with alcohol then it is not Halal.
Turola Yeast Grain & Plant based Ingredients Torula yeast is single celled plant and used for flavoring. It can be grown on sugar cane which is a Halal substrate or it can be grown on alcohol or liquor the it became not Halal.
Vitamin A as Retinol Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin B12: As Cyanocobalamin Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin B1: As Thiamine Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin B2: As Riboflavin Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin B5: As Pantotherric Acid Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin B6: As Pyridoxine Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin D as Calciferol: Ingredients from plant or animal sources For the dairy industry it is made from sheep&&&&s Lanolin (wool) for fortifying the milk. It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin E: As Tocopherol Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Vitamin K: Ingredients from plant or animal sources It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
Whey Dairy Ingredients : Whey is the liquid portion of the milk when milk is coagulated. It is the by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if the whey is Halal or Kosher certified.
Whey Protein Concentrate. Dairy Ingredients Whey Protein Concentrate is made from whey. It is Halal only if is Halal or Kosher certified.