E-Numbers

Download PDF
Halal Status E-Number Name Description
E107 Yellow 2G Colors It is a synthetic chemical dye obtained from coal tar and yellow Azo dye and it is soluble in water.
E110 Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S Color It is a chemical dye and it is Halal as dry powder. Only 2% of it is not soluble in water.
E1103 Invertase Enzyme Invertase is obtained from yeast and also synthesized by honey bees. Invertase breaks sucrose(table sugar) into glucose and frustose the simple sugar.
E1105 Lysozyme is an enzyme found in egg white. true
E1200 Polydextrose A starch based thickener, stabilizer, humectant.
E1201 Polyvinylpyrrolidone Water soluble polymer
E129 Allura Red AC It is a red azo dye used for color in foods. Since it is soluble in water, both dry or liquid forms are Halal.
E133 Brilliant Blue FCF Colors It is a chemical dye made from aromatic hydrocarbon from petroleum source. It is soluble in water so do not need any solvent. It is a Halal dye.
E1400 Dextrin It is a low molecular carbohysrate obtained through starch hydroloysis or through action of Amylase enzyme(Halal). It is used as a carrier in dry flavors, use in dry beverage mixes and soups.
E1401 Acid Treated Starch Starch is modified with an acid.
E1404 Oxidized Starch Starch oxidized with chemical
E142 Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Color This is a synthetic color soluble in water
E1420 Acetylated Starch Chemically modified starch
E1450 Starch Sodium Octenyl Succinate Chemically modified starch with octenylsuccinate.
E1451 Acetylated Oxidized Starch Chemically modified starch
E150(a-d) Caramel Color/with chemicals Color
E1505 Trietyhl Citrate A ester of citric acid
E151 Black PN / Brilliant Black BN Color This is a synthetic color soluble in water
E1518 Glyceryl Triacetate, Triacetin A artficial chemical compond used as a solvent in flavors and also as humectant.
E1520 Propylene Glycol A petroleum based Halal humectant used as a solvent in food flavors.
E153 Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal) Color Obtained from Coal Tar
E154 Brown FK Colors It is synthetic Azo dye and soluble in water
E160b Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin Color - Annatto is a Halal color and it is used with water in liquid products.
E160c Capsanthin / Capsorbin Color- It has plant origin and available in oil or water soluble form.
E163 Anthocyanins Color Anthocyanins is a water soluble pigment obtained from plants by extracting with water and it is a Halal color.
E170 Calcium Carbonate (Chalk) It is a Inorganic chemical.
E171 Titanium Dioxide It is a Inorganic chemical and use in food products to provide white color.
E172 Iron Oxides and Iron Hydroxides Iron is a metal. Iron Oxide and Iron Hydroxides are inorganic chemicals.
E173 Aluminium It is a metal.
E174 Silver It is a metal.
E175 Gold It is a metal
E200 Sorbic Acid Chemical Preservative
E201 Soduim Sorbate Chemical Preservative
E202 Potassium Sorbate Chemical Preservative
E203 Calcium Sorbate Chemical Preservative
E203 Calcium Sorbate A chemical preservative
E210 Benzoic Acid Chemical Preservative
E211 Sodium Benzoate Chemical Preservative
E212 Potassium Benzoate Chemical Preservative
E213 Calcium Benzoate Chemical Preservative
E214 Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Chemical Preservative
E215 Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Chemical Preservative
E216 Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Chemical Preservative
E217 Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Chemical Preservative
E218 Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Chemical Preservative
E219 Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Chemical Preservative
E220 Sulphur Dioxide Chemical Preservative
E221 Sodium Sulphite Chemical Preservative
E222 Sodium Hydrogen Sulphite Chemical Preservative
E223 Sodium Metabisulphite Chemical Preservative
E224 Potassium Metabisulphite Chemical Preservative
E226 Calcium Sulphite Chemical Preservative
E227 Calcium Hydrogen Sulphite Chemical Preservative
E228 Potassium Hydrogen sulphite Chemical preservative.
E230 Biphenyl / Diphenyl Bipheny is a organic compound used as heat transfer. It is used in fungicide. It is used as a preservative in foods.
E231 2-Hydroxybiphenyl It is organic compound and used as a preservative in foods.
E232 Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl Oxide It is organic compound and used as a preservative in foods.
E233 2-(Thiazol-4-yl) Benzimidazole Chemical Preservative
E234 Nisin Nisin is a antibacteria protein peptide, a preservative used in foods. It is produced from the lactic acid fermentation of bacterium Lactococcus lactis.
E235 Natamycin A naturally occurring antifungal, approved to use only on the surface of some cheeses and sausages in European Union.
E239 Hexamine Hexamine is prepared by the reaction of formaldehyde and ammonia and it a preservative.
E242 Dimethyl dicarbonate Chemical
E249 Potassium Nitrate Chemical Preservative
E250 Sodium Nitrite Chemical Preservative
E251 Sodium Nitrate Chemical Preservative
E252 Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre) Chemical Preservative
E260 Acetic Acid Miscellaneous - Acids
E261 Potassium Acetate Miscellaneous - Acids
E262 Sodium Acetates Prservative or acid regulator
E263 Calcium Acetate Miscellaneous - Acids
E270 Lactic Acid Miscellaneous - Acids
E280 Propionic Acid Preservative - Acids
E281 Sodium Propionate Preservative- Acids
E282 Calcium Propionate Preservative- Acids
E283 Potassium Propionate Preservative- Acids
E284 Boric acid Preservative.
E285 Sodium tetraborate; Borax Chemical
E290 Carbon Dioxide Miscellaneous
E296 Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts
E297 Fumaric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts
E300 L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) Antioxidants- Vitamin C
E301 Sodium-L-Ascorbate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives
E302 Calcium-L-Ascorbate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives
E307 Synthetic Alpha-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic antioxidant.
E308 Synthetic Gamma-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic antioxidant.
E309 Synthetic Delta-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic antioxidant.
E310 Propyl Gallate Antioxidants and synthetic preservative.
E311 Octyl Gallate Antioxidants
E312 Dodecyl Gallate Antioxidants
E315 Erythorbic acid Antioxidant.
E316 Sodium erythorbate Chemical
E316 Sodium erythorbate Chemical
E316 Sodium erythorbate Chemical
E322 Lecithin Emulsifiers and Stabilizers It now days made from soy fat or Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only soy fat is used as a source.
E325 Sodium Lactate Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid
E326 Potassium Lactate Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid
E327 Calcium Lactate Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid
E330 Citric Acid Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
E331 Sodium Citrates Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
E332 Potassium Citrates Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
E333 Calcium Citrates Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
E338 Orthophosphoric Acid Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts
E350 Sodium Malate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E351 Potassium Malate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E352 Calcium Malate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E353 Metataric Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E355 Adipic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E363 Succinic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E370 1,4-Heptonolactane Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E375 Nicotinic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E380 Triammonium Citrate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E381 Ammonium Ferric Citrate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E385 Calcium Disodium EDTA Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
E400 Alginic Acid Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
E401 Sodium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
E402 Potassium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
E403 Ammonium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
E404 Calcium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
E405 Propane-1,2-Diol Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
E406 Agar Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
E410 Locust Bean Gum (Carob Gum) Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
E412 Guar Gum Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
E413 Tragacanth Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
E414 Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic) Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
E415 Xanthan Gum Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
E416 Karaya Gum Emulsifiers and Stabilizers
E417 Tara Gum A leguminous tree gum.
E418 Gellan Gum A polysaccharide gum produced by bacteria.
E420 Sorbitol Sugar Alcohols
E421 Mannitol Sugar Alcohols
E425 Konjac A gum.
E440a Pectin Emulsifier and Stabilizer - Pectin and derivatives
E440b Amidated Pectin Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives
E444 Sucrose accetate isobutyrate A chemical emulsifier produced by esterification of sucrose with acetic and isobutyric anhydrides.
E445 Glycerol esters of wood rosin A emulsifier and stabilizer obtained from wood rosin of a tree.
E459 Beta-Cyclodextrin It is composed 7 glucose units
E460 Microcrystalline / Powdered Cellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
E461 Methylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
E463 Hydroxypropylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
E464 Hydroxypropyl-Methylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
E465 Ethylmethylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
E466 Carboxymethylcellulose, Sodium Salt Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
E467 Sodium Carboxy methyl cellulose a plant cellulose
E468 Cross Linked Carboxy methyl cellulose Sodium CMC is acidified by a acid and then boiled to cross link.
E469 Enzymatically hydrolyzed Carboxy Methyl Cellulose CMC is hydrolyzed by cellolase enzyme.
E500 Sodium Carbonate / Sodium Bicarbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
E501 Potassium Carbonate / Potassium Bicarbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
E503 Ammonium Carbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
E504 Magnesium Carbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
E507 Hydrochloric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
E508 Potassium Chloride Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
E509 Calcium Chloride Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
E510 Ammonium Chloride Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
E511 Magnesium Chloride Chemical
E512 Stannous chloride chemical
E513 Sulphuric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
E514 Sodium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
E515 Potassium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
E516 Calcium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
E517 Ammonium Sulphate chemical
E518 Magnesium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
E520 Almunium sulphate Chemical
E521 Alimunium Sodium Sulphate Chemical
E522 Aluminium Potassium Sulphate Chemical
E523 Aluminium Ammonium Sulphate Chemical
E524 Sodium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E525 Potassium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E526 Calcium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E527 Ammonium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E528 Magnesium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E529 Calcium Oxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E530 Magnesium Oxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis
E535 Sodium Ferrocyanide Miscellaneous - other Salts
E536 Potassium Ferrocyanide Miscellaneous - other Salts
E538 Calcium Ferrocyanide Chemical
E540 Dicalcium Ferrocyanide Miscellaneous - other Salts
E541 Sodium Aluminium Phosphate Miscellaneous - other Salts
E550 Sodium Silicate A anticaking agent.
E551 Silicon Dioxide (Silica Salt) Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
E552 Calcium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
E553 Magnesium Silicate / Magnesium Trisilicate (Talc) Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
E554 Aluminium Sodium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
E555 Potassium Aluminium Sillicate Chemical
E556 Aluminium Calcium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
E558 Bentonite Miscellaneous - other compounds
E559 Kaolin (Aluminium Silicate) Miscellaneous - other compounds
E574 Gluconic Acids Organic compound
E575 Glucono Delta-Lactone Miscellaneous - other compounds
E576 Sodium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds
E577 Potassium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds
E578 Calcium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds
E585 Ferrous Lactate Iron compound
E636 Maltol Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
E637 Ethyl Maltol Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
E650 Zinc Acetate Chemical
E900 Dimethylpolysiloxane Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
E901 Beeswax Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
E902 Candelilla Wax Candelilla wax is derived from leaves of a plant.
E903 Carnauba Wax Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
E905 Mineral Hydrocarbons Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
E913 Lanolin It is from sheep wool and obtained without slaughtering the sheep.
E914 Oxidised Polyethylene Wax plastic based product
E924 Potassium Bromate Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
E925 Chlorine Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
E926 Chlorine Dioxide Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
E927b Carbamide Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
E938 Argon Chemical element
E939 Helium Gas
E941 Nitrogen Gas
E942 Nitrous Oxide Laughing gas
E943a Butane Alkane gas
E943b Iso-butane Alkane
E944 Propane Gas
E949 Hydrogen Gas
E951 Aspartane A synthetic swetener.
E953 Isomalt A sweetener, it is Halal certified from a German company, it is Halal in USA.
E954 Sacharin A synthetic sweetener.
E965 Maltitol A sugar alcohol and humectant.
E967 Xylitol A sugar alcohol.
Halal Status E-Number Name Description
E120 Cochineal / Carminic Acid Color Obtained from insects. All insects except Locust are Haram in Islam.
E124 Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A Color Cochineal Red A is a Haram Color. Ponceau 4R is a synthetic color. It is Halal if used in dry form from Halal sources but liquid form is Halal if Halal solvents are used
E354 Calcium Tartrate It is the by-product of wine making in many countries but in USA and Canada Tartrate or Tartaric acid is made from unfermented crushed grapes.
E999 Quillaia Extract Soap bark tree but extract is extracted with alcohol.
Halal Status E-Number Name Description
E100 Curcumin/Turmeric Color Halal only if they are 100% but in food industry they are not available 100% but made with fat based emulsifiers such as Polysorbate 80
E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) Color Halal if it is made from synthetic source otherwise need investigation for it source
E102 Tartazine Tartazine if obtained from natural source then it is soluble in water then it is Halal. If obtained from synthetic dye then it is Halal only if it mix with vegetable oil.
E103 Chrysoine Resocinol This is coloring E-Number but Halal only if the solvents are Halal. It is obtained from a plant.
E104 Quinoline Yellow Color It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used
E105 Fast Yellow AB It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used. It is forbidden in USA & Europe.
E122 Carmoisine / Azorubine Color It is chemical dye and Halal if use as a powder. Liquid Color is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. It is used in fermented heated food products which may not be Halal.
E123 Amaranth Dye Color It is Dry form petroleum base. It is Halal if use as a powder dye. Liquid dye is Halal only if only Halal solvents are used.
E127 Erythrosine BS Color It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used.
E128 Red 2G Colors It is a chemical dye, Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used.
E131 Patent Blue V Color It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used.
E132 Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color It is used to be extracted from plant but now it is synthetically produced and It is Halal if synthetically produced from Halal sources. Liquid for requires solvent, liquid for is Halal only if Halal solvent are used.
E140 Chlorophyll Color It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol.
E141 Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol.
E1410 Mono starch Phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E1412 Distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E1413 Phosphated sistarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E1422 Acetylated distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E1442 Hydroxy propyl distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E155 Brown HT Colors It is a synthetic coal tar diazo dye. It is Halal if used as powder. Liquid Brown HT is Halal only if the solvents are Halal.
E160a Alpha, Beta, Gamma Carotene Color - Carotene Carotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef.
E160d Lycopene Color - Carotene Lycopne is a bright red carotene and carotenoid obtained from tomato and other red fruit and vegetables. It is not soluble in water but dissolve in oil and organic solvents. It is Halal if dissolve in oil and mushbooh when dissolve in organic solvents.
E160e Beta-apo-8-carotenal Color - Carotene arotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef.
E160f Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acid Color - Carotene arotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef.
E161a Flavoxanthin Color It is a natural pigment. Halal status is depend upon (a) what extracting material used to obtained the pigment (2) what solvent used for its liquid form.
E161b Lutein Color Lutein is xanthophyll carotene. It is present in plant as fatty acid ester. It is extrcted from marigold petals. Its Halal status depend upon the Halal status of extracting chemicals, if it is extracted by alcohol then it is not Halal.
E161c Cryptoxanthin Color Cryptoxanthin is a natural carotene pigment and it is found in petal of flower of plants. Its Halal status depend upon the Halal status of extracting chemicals, if it is extracted by alcohol then it is not Halal.
E161d Rubixanthin Color Rubixanthin is a xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form.
E161e Violaxanthin Color violaxanthin is a xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form.
E161f Rhodoxanthin Color Rhodoxanthin is a xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form.
E161g Canthaxanthin Color Canthaxanthin is a carotene pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form.
E162 Beetroot Red / Betanin Color Beetroot Red is a food dye extracted from beet or beet juice. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form.
E180 Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK Color - It is synthetic Azo dye. It is Halal if used as a powder but it is mushbooh if used in liquid form because solvent has to be Halal.
E304 Ascorbyl Palmitate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives. It is a ester formed by reacting palmitic acid(fat source)and ascorbic acid(vitamin C). It is Halal only if the palmitic acid is obtained from plant fat such as soy fat. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label indicates that palmitic acid is from vegetable fat.
E306 Antioxidants- Vitamin E If the Tocopherols(vitamin E) is from plant fat then it is Halal. It is a antioxidant. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that it is obtained from vegetable fat or oil.
E320 Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA) Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only if vegetable oil is used as a carrier because it is not available in 100% form. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil is used as a carrier.
E321 Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT) Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only if vegetable oil is used as a carrier because it is not available in 100% form. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil is used as a carrier.
E334 Tartaric Acid Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.
E335 Sodium Tartrates Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.
E336 Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar) Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.
E337 Potassium Sodium Tartrates Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.
E339 Sodium Phosphates Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E340 Potassium Phosphates Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E341 Calcium Phosphates Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E343 Magnesium phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E356 Sodium adipate Sodium adipate is the sodium salt of adipic acid which is obtained by the oxidation of fat. If it is obtained from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is obtained from pork fat tehn it is Haram.
E357 Potassium adipate Potassiumadipate is the potassium salt of adipic acid which is obtained by the oxidation of fat. If it is obtained from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is obtained from pork fat tehn it is Haram.
E407 Carrageenan It is a seaweed gum. Isopropyl Alcohol( A Halal Alcohol) or Ethyl Alcohol (A Haram Alcohol) is also used during it processing.
E422 Glycerol Glycerol is a polyol obtained from fats and oil. It is Halal if it obtained from oils or soy fat. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil or fat is used as a source.
E430 Polyoxyethane (8) Stearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E431 Polyoxyethane (40) Stearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E432 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E433 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Mono-oleate / Polysorbate 80. Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E434 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monopalmitate / Polysorbate 40 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E435 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monostearate / Polysorbate 60 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E436 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Tristearate / Polysorbate 65 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E441 Gelatin Gelatin from Zabiha slaughtered beef and fish source is considered Halal. Gelatin from pork is Haram. Gelatin from non zabiha beef is not Halal.
E442 Ammonium phosphatides It could be obtained either vegetable fat or animal fat. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from vegetable fat or oil.
E450a,b,c Sodium and Potassium Phosphates and Polyphosphates Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E451 Triphosphates Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E452 Polyphosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E470 Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E471 Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package "Suitable for Vegetarian" containing E-Number 471 then it means the E Number 471 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal
E472 Various Esters of Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package "Suitable for Vegetarian" containing E-Number 472 then it means the E Number 472 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal
E472e Monoand diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono & diglycerides Halal only if it is obtained from plant fat. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package "Suitable for Vegetarian" containing E-Number 472e the it means the E Number 472e is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal
E473 Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package "Suitable for Vegetarian" containing E-Number 473 the it means the E Number 473 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal
E474 Sucroglycerides Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E475 Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E476 Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E477 Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E478 Lactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1,2-Diol Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E479b Thermally oxidized soybean oil interacted with mono and diglycerides of fatty acids If mono & diglyceride from soy fat then it is Halal otherwise not. If a claim "Suitable for Vegetarian" on the food package containing E479b, it means the mono & diglycerides are obtained from vegetable fat.
E481 Sodium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E482 Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E483 Stearyl Tartrate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E491 Sorbitan Monostearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E492 Sorbitan Tristearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E493 Sorbitan Monolaurate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E494 Sorbitan Mono-oleate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E495 Sorbitan Monopalmitate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source.
E542 Edible Bone Phosphate (Bone-Meal) Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents Halal if the bones from zabiha slaughtered beef.
E544 Calcium Polyphosphates Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E545 Ammonium Polyphosphates Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.
E570 Stearic Acid Miscellaneous - other compounds. Siutable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Stearic acid is from vegetable fat.
E572 Magnesium Stearate Miscellaneous - other compounds. Siutable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Magnesium Stearate is from vegetable fat.
E620 L-Glutamic Acid Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of L-Glutamic acid is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. L-Glutamic acid is also obtained from yeast and yeast can also grown on pork fat media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E621 Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Monosodium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Monosodium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E622 Monopotassium Glutamate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Monopotassium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Monopotassium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E623 Calcium Glutamate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Calcium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Calcium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E624 Mono ammonium glutamate Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Mono ammonium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Mono ammonium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E625 Magnesium diglutamate Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Magnesium diglutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Magnesium diglutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E626 Guanylic Acid Guanylic Acid is nucleotide of RNA. Nucleotides are commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal
E627 Sodium Guanylate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Sodium Guanylate is from vegetable source or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Although disodium Guanylate is obtained from fish or seaweed or yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E628 Dipotassium Guanylate It is a potassium salt of guanylic acid. Guanylaic acid is a nucleotide of RNA obtained from torula yeast cells. nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.
E629 Calcium Guanylate A flavor enhancer, Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Calcium Guanylate is from vegetable source or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Although disodium Guanylate is obtained from fish or seaweed or yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.
E630 Inosinic acid A flavor enhancer, IMP or inosine monophosphate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Inosinic acid is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.
E631 Sodium Inosinate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. In Europe if it is obtained from non alcoholic fermantation by bacteria on sugar or from sugarcane itself then it is Halal but if it is obtained from Torula yeast grown on alcohol then disodium Inosinate is not Halal. It is Halal in USA and Canada. Disodium Inosinate is used in Europe as flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is a nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in infant baby formula.
E632 Dipotassium Inosinate A flavor enhancer. Dipotassium Inosinate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.
E633 Calcium Inosinate A flavor enhancer. Calcium Inosinate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.
E634 Calcium5-Ribonucleotide Calcium5-Ribonucleotide is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Calcium5-Ribonucleotide is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.
E635 Sodium5-Ribonucleotide Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Sodium5-Ribonucleotide is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium5-Ribonucleotide is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.
E640 Glycine and its sodium salt Glycin is a amino acid obtained either plant protein or animal protein. Only plant protein Glycine is Halal or if a claim "Suitable for Vegetarian" appeared on food package containing glycine, it means that Glycine is obtained from vegetable protein.
E904 Shellac Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Glazing with Shellac is not Halal because alcohol is used to dissolve the Shellac and then evaporate before glazing on food products. Pure Shellac without alcohol is Halal because it is a insect secretion.
E907 Refined Microcrystalline Wax Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents If alcohol is used then it is not Halal.
E912 Montan Acid Esters Halal if obtained from plant lipid or fat. Haram if obtained frpm pork fat. Suitable for vegetarian claim on package indicates they are from plant fat.
E920 L-Cysteine Hydrochloride Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour L-Cysteine from human hair is Haram. L-Cysteine from chicken feathers is not Halal. L-Cysteine from fermentation and synthetic source is Halal.
E966 Lactitol A sugar alcohol, Halal if obtained from Halal whey or lactose. If animal rennet is used to make whey and lactose then Lactitol is not Halal.